عن
قطر للتعدين

تم تأسيس شركة قطر للتعدين (QM) ، المملوكة بالكامل من قبل دولة قطر ، في عام 2010 للقيام باستثمارات مستهدفة وذات قيمة تراكمية تعظيم القيمة لدولة قطر من خلال الشراكات والاستثمارات في قطاع التعدين والمعادن.

حتى الآن ، أنشأت إدارة الجودة مشروعين رئيسيين. واحد هو استكشاف الفرعية في السودان ، مع المشروع حاليا في مرحلة الاستكشاف المتقدمة على رواسب النحاس / الذهب. المشروع الآخر هو مشروع مشترك لمصنع للصلب في الجزائر.

التركيز الفوري في إدارة الجودة هو حماية فرص خلق القيمة في هذين المشروعين. في المدى المتوسط ​​إلى الطويل ، ستستكشف إدارة الجودة فرص الاستثمار في الشراكات في المراحل المختلفة لصناعة التعدين ، وتكون مفتوحة للاستثمار في الفرص التي تحدث في جميع أنحاء العالم مع الحفاظ في الوقت نفسه على استراتيجيتها للتنويع الجغرافي.

ستخلق الشركة قيمة طويلة الأجل لدولة قطر من خلال المساهمة في تنويع الاقتصاد وزيادة الإيرادات غير الهيدروكربونية من خلال الاستثمارات في المشاريع المعدنية في مختلف الولايات القضائية.

الاستدامة والشفافية في صميم إدارة الجودة. نحن ملتزمون بصحة وسلامة شعبنا واستدامة البيئة والمجتمعات التي نعمل فيها.

خالد العبيدلي

المدير التنفيذي

رسالة الرئيس التنفيذي

إنه لمن دواعي سروري البالغ أن أعرض Qatar Mining ، وهي شركة أنشأتها حكومة قطر للقيام باستثمارات مستهدفة في قطاع الموارد المعدنية. تتمثل فلسفة الشركة في الحصول على الأصول عبر سلسلة القيمة ، من عمليات التنقيب على مستوى القاعدة إلى تشغيل المناجم وحتى المنتجين المتميزين. تتبع الشركة نهج الاستحواذ في السوق العادلة لضمان القيمة للمساهمين الأساسيين. يتم تفضيل الفرص التي تقدم عوائد مبكرة على الاستثمار ، وكذلك يتم تقليل المخاطر من خلال السلع وحالة المشروع وتنويع الاختصاصات.

أعتقد اعتقادا راسخا أن الأصول الرئيسية للشركة هي موظفيها ، ويسرني أن أقول إننا حصلنا على أفضل المنتجات. يتمتع فريق الإدارة العليا في قطر للتعدين بخبرة عملية واسعة في مجال الاستكشاف والتعدين ومشروعات الموارد ، وقد شغل معظمهم مناصب تنفيذية في لاعب رئيسي متعدد الجنسيات في مجالاتهم. طورت الشركة علاقات رئيسية مع مجموعة واسعة من كبار اللاعبين في الصناعة وأصحاب المصلحة الحكوميين.

أنا واثق من أن شركة قطر للتعدين لديها الرؤية والقيادة والتركيز الاستراتيجي لتحقيق مهمتها وأن تصبح مستثمراً عالمياً في صناعة التعدين.

مجموعة مخرجين

سعادة الشيخ فيصل بن ثاني آل ثاني هو رئيس المحافظ الإقليمية في هيئة الاستثمار القطرية.

QIA هو صندوق الثروة السيادية لدولة قطر ، وفي دوره الشيخ فيصل مسؤول عن الاستثمارات في جنوب شرق آسيا وأفريقيا وأمريكا اللاتينية والشرق الأوسط.

شغل الشيخ فيصل سابقًا منصب كبير المسؤولين عن الاستثمار في مؤسسة قطر الوقفية. كما لعب دورًا قياديًا رئيسيًا في إدارة الاستثمار في بنك قطر المركزي.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يشغل الشيخ فيصل حاليًا مهام مجلس الإدارة في شركة قطر للتأمين والبنك الأهلي والديار القطرية ورئيس مجلس إدارة بنك قطر الأول.

الشيخ فيصل حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في إدارة الأعمال من جامعة ماريماونت ، فرجينيا ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وماجستير تنفيذي في إدارة الأعمال من HEC باريس.

سعادة الشيخ فيصل بن ثاني آل ثاني

رئيس

يشغل السيد علي المريخي منصب العضو المنتدب & amp؛ المدير العام لشركة قطر للحديد بعد أن أصبحت مديرا & amp؛ مدير عام منذ نوفمبر 2010.

أصبح نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة فولاث القابضة ، البحرين في فبراير 2014 ، وكان أيضًا عضوًا نشطًا في مجلس إدارة شركة البحرين للحديد ، إحدى شركاتها الزميلة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كان عضوًا في مجلس إدارة شركة SOLB Steel في المملكة العربية السعودية ، حيث شاركت قطر ستيل بنسبة 31.03 في المائة ، كما شغل منصب نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة قطر للتعدين ، وهو أحد كبار المساهمين في مشروع الصلب JV في الجزائر. علاوة على ذلك ، كان السيد المريخي عضوًا معينًا في مجلس إدارة شركة صناعات قطر (IQ).

السيد المريخي مرتبط بشركة قطر للحديد منذ عام 1981 حيث بدأ حياته المهنية كمتدرب ونشأ بسرعة وتولى العديد من المناصب الإدارية المسؤولة عن شؤون الموظفين والمبيعات والتسويق. بعد ذلك ، شغل منصب مدير الشعبة التجارية منذ يناير 2003. وقد أسهمت مساهمته في نمو شركة قطر للحديد على مدار السنوات التي تخدم قطر وأسواق التصدير له في قيادة الشركة كمدير إداري. مدير عام.

من خلال خبرته الواسعة في صناعة الصلب لأكثر من 3 عقود كرؤية ، وضع أولوياته للمساهمة في النمو الوطني ، والخدمات المجتمعية ، وقاد استراتيجية نمو الشركة من خلال التوسعات والتحالفات. لقد كان عضوًا نشطًا ومشاركًا في اجتماعات التنسيق والأعمال بين المصنعين الخليجيين وفي مؤتمرات الصلب مثل IREPAS و Metal Bulletin و Arab Steel Summit.

ولد السيد المريخي في عام 1958 ، وحصل على درجة البكالوريوس في علم الاجتماع والخدمة الاجتماعية (1977-1981) من جامعة قطر وماجستير في إدارة الأعمال (1985-1986) من جامعة القلب المقدس ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

علي بن حسن المريخي

نائب رئيس مجلس الإدارة

انضم عبد الله مبارك آل خليفة إلى مجموعة QNB في عام 1996 ، ويشغل حاليًا منصب الرئيس التنفيذي بالإنابة في مجموعة QNB. كان آخر ما قام به عبد الله هو المدير العام التنفيذي – الرئيس التنفيذي للأعمال ، حيث كان مسؤولاً عن الشركات والتجزئة والأصول والمبيعات. إدارة الثروات والخزينة والخدمات المصرفية الدولية.
شغل عبد الله أيضًا العديد من المناصب الإستراتيجية العليا في المجموعة. لقد منحته الأدوار خبرة واسعة في الشركات & amp؛ تمويل المشاريع والتخطيط الاستراتيجي والمبيعات والمبيعات التسويق ، إدارة المخاطر ، الاندماجات عمليات الاستحواذ وإدارة علاقات العملاء. عبد الله ، المولود عام 1973 ، حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في إدارة الأعمال من جامعة شرق واشنطن ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

عبد الله مبارك آل خليفة

عضو

السيد خليفة جاسم الكواري هو المدير العام لصندوق قطر للتنمية ، الذي يدير أنشطة المساعدات الخارجية والتنمية الدولية لدولة قطر. منذ عام 2014 ، كان يقود إنشاء ، ووضع الإستراتيجية ، والتشغيل ، والشراكات ، وبرامج تمويل صندوق قطر للتنمية في مختلف البلدان النامية.

في السابق ، كان السيد كواري هو الرئيس التنفيذي للعمليات بهيئة الاستثمار القطرية (QIA) ، حيث أشرف على البنية التحتية لدعم الأعمال بأكملها وقاد العديد من المبادرات لتحسين أداء وظائف الدعم. وقبل ذلك ، شغل السيد أ. كواري منصب المدير التنفيذي لشركة QIA للمشروع المشترك والأعمال الدولية ، حيث كان يدير المشاريع الاستثمارية المشتركة والعلاقات بين الحكومة.

وقد تم تعيينه في مجالس إدارات الشركات والمؤسسات الرائدة مثل هارودز ومجموعة فولكس واجن ومجموعة فيرمونت رافلز وسونج بيرد العقارية وسوق قطر للصرافة وكاتارا للضيافة ومواسعات. كما تم تعيينه رئيسًا لمجلس إدارة بنك بريطانيا الإسلامي وقطر والجزائر للاستثمار. السيد AI-Kuwari هو عضو في مجلس الإدارة ورئيس لجنة التدقيق في شركة قطر للتعدين. وهو مهتم أيضًا بالعمل الاجتماعي داخل دولة قطر ، وقد تم انتخابه لعضوية مجلس إدارة مؤسسة قطر للعمل الاجتماعي ، والذي يضم مؤسسات اجتماعية مثل نعمه وإحسان وشفلح ودريما وفاق وأمان. السيد الكواري هو رئيس مجلس جمعية خريجي مركز القيادة في قطر.

بدأ السيد AI-Kuwari مسيرته المهنية كمحاسب ومدير استثمار ، وتولى العديد من المسؤوليات في بنك قطر المركزي و “أشغال”. هيئة التخطيط العمراني. اكتسب خبرة متعمقة في المحاسبة والتدقيق والتحليل المالي وإدارة الاستثمار.

السيد خليفة أي كواري حاصل على ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال التنفيذية في إدارة الأعمال من كلية لندن للأعمال في المملكة المتحدة ، وماجستير في المحاسبة من جامعة كليفلاند ستيت في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وبكالوريوس في إدارة الأعمال من جامعة قطر. تخرج من برنامج تطوير القيادة في كلية هارفارد للأعمال في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ومركز قطر للقيادة. اجتاز السيد AI-Kuwari امتحان المحاسبين القانونيين في أوهايو ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

خليفة جاسم الكواري

عضو

انضم سلطان إلى هيئة الاستثمار القطرية في مارس 2010. ويشغل حاليًا منصب مدير في إدارة المحافظ الإقليمية ، التي لديها مهمة الاستثمار في الأسواق الناشئة والحدود. يتمثل دور سلطان في إدارة عمليات وأنشطة الاستثمار ومساعدة الرئيس في وضع وتنفيذ الخطط الإستراتيجية وتنسيق الموارد اللازمة لتحقيق أهداف الإدارة بهدف زيادة عائد الاستثمارات. أيضا لتوفير الإشراف على سير العمل ومراقبته وتحليل أدائه للحافظة لضمان توافقها مع الأهداف الإستراتيجية طويلة الأجل الخاصة بـ QIA.

يتمتع سلطان بأكثر من 16 عامًا من الخبرة الغنية في العمل في كل من القطاعين الحكومي والخاص الذي يغطي الصناعات بما في ذلك النفط والألمنيوم. الغاز والعقارات والخدمات المالية.

حصل سلطان على درجة بكالوريوس العلوم في هندسة الإلكترونيات مع قاصر في الرياضيات من جامعة أريزونا بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عام 2002.

سلطان السعدي

عضو

قيادة

تم تعيين السيد العبيدلي في منصب مدير الاستثمار في قطر للتعدين من عام 2011 حتى مارس 2018. في أبريل 2018 ؛ عينه مجلس الإدارة كرئيس تنفيذي لشركة قطر للتعدين.
كما يشغل منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة QSI ومديرًا للهيئات المحلية والعالمية مثل Southern Arc Minerals و Tadeen Cyprus و AQS. بدأ السيد العبيدلي مسيرته المهنية في قطاع النفط والغاز لمدة ستة (6) سنوات مع شركة قطر للبترول (QP). وثمانية (8) سنوات مع شركة دولفين للطاقة قطر. حصل السيد العبيدلي على درجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال (MBA) من فرنسا وشهادة البكالوريوس (بكالوريوس) في التعدين والتأهيل. الهندسة الجيولوجية من جامعة أريزونا ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، حضر العديد من الدورات التدريبية المحلية والدولية.

خالد العبيدلي

الرئيس التنفيذى

مهمتنا

نحن نقود الاستثمارات الأجنبية في قطر في مجال التعدين والمعادن.

رؤيتنا

تعظيم القيمة لدولة قطر من خلال الشراكات والاستثمارات في قطاع التعدين والمعادن.

قيمنا

في حين تهدف Qatar Mining إلى تلبية التوقعات العالية لدولة قطر والمجتمع والموظفين والموردين والعملاء ، فإننا ملتزمون بما يلي:

سلامة

نحن ملتزمون سياسة الضرر صفر

تفوق

نحن نسعى جاهدين لتقديم نتائج أعمال متميزة لدولة قطر

التركيز

نحن نركز على مجالات حيث يمكننا إضافة قيمة كبيرة

النزاهة والصدق والشفافية

نتعامل مع الآخرين في جميع تعاملاتنا التجارية بالطريقة التي نريد أن نتعامل بها

احترام

نحن نحترم جميع أفراد المجتمع ، بغض النظر عن عرقهم أو دينهم أو جنسهم

عن قطر

قطر شبه جزيرة 11.437 كيلومتر مربع. تقع في منتصف الطريق إلى الساحل الغربي للخليج العربي. الأمير ، صاحب السمو الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني ، هو حاكم قطر ورئيس السلطات الدستورية ، التي تتمتع بسلطات تشريعية وتنفيذية على السواء. وقد أعطت الصناعات القائمة على الهيدروكربون قطر واحداً من أعلى مستويات دخل الفرد في العالم. وجعلها واحدة من أسرع الاقتصادات نموا. من خلال عرض مقاربة مستنيرة للتنمية المستدامة ، تقوم قطر بتوجيه ثروتها ليس إلى أصول الكأس ولكن إلى تمويل النهوض بالثقافة والعلوم والتعليم. سيكون طريقها الاستراتيجي نحو اقتصاد ما بعد الهيدروكربونات من خلال مجتمع نابض بالحياة قائم على المعرفة. نشأت دولة قطر ، المفعمة بالحيوية والطموح ، لتصبح واحدة من أكثر الدول تفكيرًا في الشرق الأوسط ، مع زيادة النمو الإقليمي والإقليمي. النفوذ العالمي. تشير أحدث التقديرات إلى أن عدد سكان قطر يتجاوز 2.6 مليون نسمة. بحلول عام 2030 ، تهدف قطر إلى أن تكون مجتمعًا متقدمًا قادرًا على الحفاظ على تنميتها وتوفير مستوى معيشة مرتفع لجميع سكانها. تحدد الرؤية الوطنية لدولة قطر النتائج طويلة الأجل للبلد وتوفر إطارًا يمكن من خلاله تطوير الاستراتيجيات وخطط التنفيذ الوطنية.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030 واستراتيجية التنمية الوطنية القطرية

About
Qatar Mining

Qatar Mining Company (QM), wholly owned by the State of Qatar, was established in 2010 to undertake targeted, value accretive investments that maximize value for the State of Qatar through partnerships and investments in the mining and metals sector.

To date, QM has established two major projects. One is a subsidiary exploring in Sudan, with the project currently at an advanced exploration stage on a copper/gold porphyry deposit. The other project is a steel plant joint venture in Algeria.

The immediate focus in QM is to safeguard the value creation opportunities in these two projects. In the medium to long term QM will explore opportunities for investment in partnerships in the different stages of the mining industry, being open to investment in opportunities as they occur around the world while at the same time maintaining its strategy of geographical diversification.

The company will create long term value for the State of Qatar by contributing to the diversification of the economy and increasing non-hydrocarbon revenues through investments in mineral projects in various jurisdictions.

Sustainability and transparency are at the heart of QM. We are committed to the health and safety of our people and the sustainability of the environment and communities in which we operate.

Khalid Al-Obaidli

Chief Executive Officer

CEO Message

It gives me great pleasure to introduce Qatar Mining, a company established by the Government of Qatar to undertake targeted investments in the mineral resources sector. The company’s corporate philosophy is to acquire assets across the value chain, from grassroots exploration plays to operating mines to high-end downstream producers. The company follows a fair market acquisition approach to ensure value for its principle shareholder. Opportunities that offer early returns on investment are favored, as is risk reduction through commodity, project status and jurisdictional diversification.

I believe strongly that a company’s prime asset is its people and I am pleased to say that we have sourced the best of the best. Qatar Mining’s senior management team has extensive hands-on experience in exploration, mining and resource project investment and most of the team has held executive level positions in major multi-national player in their fields. The company has developed key relationships with a wide range of major industry players and government stakeholders.

I am confident that Qatar Mining has the vision, drive and strategic focus to deliver on its mandate and become a global investor in the mining industry.

Board of Directors

H.E. Sheikh Faisal Bin Thani Al Thani

Chairman

H.E. Sheikh Faisal Bin Thani Al-Thani is head of Regional Portfolios at Qatar Investment Authority (QIA).

QIA is the sovereign wealth fund of the State of Qatar, and in his role Sheikh Faisal is responsible for investments in Southeast Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Middle East.

Sheikh Faisal previously held the position of Chief Investment Officer at Qatar Foundation Endowment. He also played a key leadership role in the Investment Department at Qatar Central Bank.

In addition, Sheikh Faisal currently holds Board roles at Qatar Insurance Company, Ahli Bank, Qatari Diar and Chairman of Qatar First Bank.

Sheikh Faisal holds an undergraduate degree in Business Administration from Marymount University, Virginia, USA and an Executive Masters in Business Administration from HEC Paris.

Ali Bin Hassan Al-Muraikhi

Vice Chairman

Mr. Ali Al Muraikhi had been the Managing Director & General Manager of Qatar Steel Company after being a Director & General Manager since November 2010.
He became Vice-Chairman of Foulath Holding Company, Bahrain in February 2014 and was also an active Board Member of Bahrain Steel, one of its associate companies. Besides, he was a Board Member of SOLB Steel in KSA where Qatar Steel has 31.03 % equity participation, and also served as Vice-Chairman of Qatar Mining Company, a major shareholder in a steel project JV in Algeria. Further, Mr. Al Muraikhi has been an appointed Board Member of Industries Qatar (IQ).

Mr. Al Muraikhi has been associated with Qatar Steel Company since 1981 where he started his career as a Trainee and grew up rapidly and held various managerial positions responsible for Personnel, Sales and Marketing. Subsequently, he served as the Commercial Division Manager since January 2003. His contribution to the growth of Qatar Steel Company over the years serving Qatar and export markets has catapulted him to spearhead the company as Managing Director & General Manager.

With his wide experience in the steel industry for over 3 decades as a visionary, he had set his priorities to contribute to national growth, community services, and drove the company’s growth strategy through expansions and alliances. He was an active member and participant in coordination and business meetings among GCC manufacturers and in Steel conferences like IREPAS, Metal Bulletin and Arab Steel Summit.

Born in 1958, Mr. Al Muraikhi holds a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology and Social Work (1977-1981) from Qatar University and an MBA (1985-1986) from Sacred Heart University, USA.

Abdulla Mubarak Al Khalifa

Member

Mr. Al Khalifa has joined QNB Group in 1996 and is currently the QNB Group Chief Executive Officer.

Mr. Al Khalifa’s most recent role was Executive General Manager – Chief Business Officer, with responsibility for Corporate, Retail, Assets & Wealth Management, Treasury and International Banking.

Mr. Al Khalifa has also held several other senior strategic positions across the Group. The roles have given him extensive experience in Corporate & Project Financing, Strategic Planning, Sales & Marketing, Risk Management, Mergers & Acquisitions, and Customer Relationship Management.

Mr. Al Khalifa, born in 1973, holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from Eastern Washington University, U.S.A.

Khalifa Jassim Al-Kuwari

Member

Mr. Khalifa Jassim Al-Kuwari is the Director General of the Qatar Fund for Development, managing the State of Qatar’s foreign aid and international development activities. Since 2014, he led the establishment, strategy-setting, operationalization, partnerships, and funding programs of the Qatar Fund for Development in various developing countries.

Previously, Mr. Al-Kuwari was the Chief Operating Officer of the Qatar Investment Authority (QIA), where he oversaw the entire business support infrastructure and led several initiatives to improve the performance of support functions. Prior to that,, Mr. AI­ Kuwari was the QIA Executive Director of Joint Venture and International Business, where he managed the investment joint ventures and government-to-government relations.

He has been appointed to the boards of leading companies and institutions such as Harrods, Volkswagen Group, Fairmont Raffles Group, Songbird Real Estate, Qatar Exchange, Katara Hospitality, and Mowasalat. He was also appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Islamic Bank of Britain, and Qatar and Algeria Investment. Mr. Al-Kuwari is a member of the Board of Directors and Chairman of the Audit Committee of Qatar Mining Company. He is also interested in social work within the State of Qatar, and he was elected to the Board of Directors of Qatar Foundation for Social Work, which includes social institutions such as Nama, Ehsan, Shafallah, Dreama, Wifaq, and Aman. Mr. Al Kuwari is the president of Qatar Leadership Centre Alumni Association Council.

Mr. Al-Kuwari started his career as an accountant and investment manager, and handled various responsibilities at the Qatar Central Bank and Ashghal & Urban Planning Authority. He acquired in-depth experience in accounting, auditing, financial analysis, and investment management.

Mr. Khalifa Al-Kuwari holds an Executive MBA in Business Administration from the London Business School in UK, an MBA in Accounting from Cleveland State University in the USA and a Bachelor of Business Administration from Qatar University. He graduated from the Leadership Development Program at Harvard Business School in the USA and Qatar Leadership Center. Mr. Al-Kuwari also passed the Chartered Accountants’ Examination in Ohio, USA.

Sultan Al-Saadi

Member

Mr. Al- Saadi joined Qatar Investment Authority in March 2010. He is currently a Director within the Regional Portfolios Department, which has the mandate to invest in emerging and frontier markets. His role is to manage the investment operations and activities and assist the Head in developing and executing the strategic plans and coordination of necessary resources required to achieve the department goals with the objective of maximizing the return of investments. Also to provide oversight to the functioning, monitoring and performance analysis of the portfolio to ensure they are aligned with QIA’s long terms strategic objectives.

Mr. Al- Saadi has over 16 years of rich experience working in both the Government and Private Sectors covering industries including Oil & Gas, Real Estate and Financial Services.

Mr. Al- Saadi earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Electronics Engineering with a minor in Mathematics from the University of Arizona, USA in 2002.

Leadership

Khalid Al-Obaidli

Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Al-Obaidli was appointed as Chief Investment Officer for Qatar Mining from 2011 till March 2018. In April 2018, the Board of Directors appointed him as Chief Executive Officer of Qatar Mining.

He is also serving as chairman of QSI and as Director on the boards locally and worldwide in organisations such as Tadeen Cyprus and AQS.

Mr. Al-Obaidli began his career in the oil and gas sector six (6) years with Qatar Petroleum Company (QP) and eight (8) years with Dolphin Energy Qatar.

Mr. Al-Obaidli has earned his Master of Business Administration degree (MBA) from France and bachelor degree (B.Sc.) in Mining & Geological Engineering from the University of Arizona, USA. In addition, he attended several local and international training.

Our Mission

We drive Qatar’s foreign investments in mining and metals.

Our Vision

To maximize value for the State of Qatar through partnerships and investments in the mining and metals sector.

Our Values

While Qatar Mining’s aim is to meet the high expectations of the State of Qatar, society, employees, suppliers and customers, we are committed to:

Safety

we are committed to zero harm policy

Excellence

we strive to deliver outstanding business results for the State of Qatar

Focus

we focus on areas where we can add significant value

Fairness, honesty and transparency

we treat others in all our business dealings the way we want to be treated

Respect

we respect all members of the society, regardless of their ethnicity, religion or gender

About Qatar

Qatar is a peninsula of 11.437 sq. Km. located halfway down the west coast of the Arabian Gulf. The Emir, His Highness Sheikh Tamim Bin Hamad Al Thani, is the ruler of Qatar and is the head of the constitutional authorities, holding both legislative and executive powers.

Hydrocarbon-based industries have given Qatar one of the highest per capita incomes in the world and made it one of the fastest-growing economies. Displaying an enlightened approach to sustainable development, Qatar is channeling its wealth not into trophy assets but into funding the advancement of culture, science, and education. Its strategic path towards a post-hydrocarbon economy will be through a vibrant, knowledge-based society.

Energetic and ambitious, the State of Qatar has emerged to become one of the most forward-thinking nations in the Middle-East, with increasing regional and global influence. Latest estimates put Qatar’s population at more than 2.6 million.

By 2030, Qatar aims to be an advanced society capable of sustaining its development and providing a high standard of living for all of its people. Qatar’s National Vision defines the long-term outcomes for the country and provides a framework within which national strategies and implementation plans can be developed.

For more information on Qatar National Vision 2030 and Qatar National Development Strategy